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SITUATION 1: The coach runs out of the dugout, yelling profanity and throwing his hat
at the base umpire as he disputes a call. RULING: When an unsportsmanlike act
involving profane language directed at an umpire is judged to be a major violation, the
penalty is an immediate ejection. No warning is necessary. These actions warrant an
immediate ejection. (3-3- 1{2 Penalty)

SITUATION 2: While objecting to a call, the head coach commits what he believes is a
minor offense. However, due to the nature of the offense, the umpire issues a written
warning and restricts the coach to the dugout. The coach states that since he has not yet
received a verbal warning, he cannot be given a written warning and subsequently be
restricted to the bench. RULING: A coach does not have to first receive a verbal warning
to receive a written warning. The three options available to an umpire do not have to be
completed in succession. Umpires do not have to give a verbal warning before issuing a
written warning. Additionally, for major offenses, an offender shall be ejected
immediately. The coach is restricted to the dugout. (3-3-1fk Penalty)

SITUATION 3: In the third inning, the head coach was restricted to the bench/dugout
because one of his players was discovered to be using an illegal bat while at bat. In the
fifth inning, the head coach commits a minor violation in arguing a call. The minor
violation by itself does not warrant an ejection. RULING: The head coach is eject-ed.
Because the head coach was previously restricted, he shall be ejected for any subsequent
offense. (3-3-1f Penalty, 4-1-3b Penalty)

SITUATION 4: After a close play at second base on an attempted steal where the base
umpire judged the runner out, the player addresses the umpire with his thoughts on the
umpire’s decision. RULING: Since the statements by the player are such that they cannot
be ignored, the player is ejected. Players, except for illegal substitution, cannot be
restricted to the bench for misconduct. (3-1-1, 3-3-1f2 Penalty)

SITUATION S: Early in the game, the home team received a team warning for a player
wearing a bandanna. A few innings later the coach argues a call and is issued a verbal
warning. Because of the previous team warning the coach is ejected. RULING: Incorrect
procedure. The previous team warning is just that — a warning to the team with the next



offender on the team being ejected. It is not an action against the head coach. All the
coach has received is a verbal warning for his actions in arguing a call and is not
restricted. (3-3- 1d Penalty, 3-3-1f Penalty)

SITUATION 6: For a minor offense in the third inning, the head coach was restricted to
the bench. In the fifth inning, his assistant coach leaves his coaching box to object to a
call at second base. RULING: The assistant coach will receive a written warning and
will be restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game. With the head coach
already restricted, he is now ejected from the game due to the penalty for the assistant
coach leaving his coaching box to argue a call. (3-3-1f6 Penalty)

SITUATION 7: With bases loaded and no outs, the batter hits a slow ground ball to the
shortstop, who fields the ball and throws home. The runner from third base slides in a
direct line between third base and home plate and arrives at home before the ball arrives.
The runner’s slide carries the runner over home plate and into the catcher, who is now
unable to make a play on another runner because of the contact by the runner. There was
nothing malicious in nature with the slide. RULING: Because the runner slides in a
direct line between the two bases, it is permissible for his momentum to carry him
through the plate in the baseline extended. With the slide being legal, merely sliding past
home and into a fielder does not constitute an illegal act. The runner is safe and there is
no resulting penalty. (2-32-2c)

SITUATION 8: With runners on second and third, the third-base runner is taking his
lead-off position well in foul territory to the side of third base. The batter hits a ground
ball to the second baseman, who fields the ball and throws home in an attempt to put out
the runner advancing from third. The runner from third base, still in the base path he
established when he first attempted to advance home, slides over home plate and into the
catcher. The catcher was knocked down by the contact from the runner from third base
and is unable to make a play on the batter-runner advancing to second base. RULING:
Since the runner from third base slides in a straight line in his established base path, and
there are no other aspects of the slide present that would make the slide illegal, the run
counts and play continues. There is no penalty on the play. (2-32-2c)

SITUATION 9: The runner from third base slides past home plate, out of his established
base path. He then contacts the catcher, preventing him from making a play on the runner
at second base. RULING: If the play at home plate was a non-force play, the run would
count, but the ball would be dead when the runner contacted the catcher. An out on the
runner at second base would be called due to the third-base runner’s interference. If the
play began as a force play, because the runner slides out of his base path, this is now
force-play slide interference. The ball is immediately dead, the run will not count, and the
runner plus the batter-runner will be declared out. (2-32- 2c, 8-4-2b Penalty)

SITUATION 10: The home team believes the visiting team’s pitcher has violated the
state’s pitch-count policy by exceeding the maximum number of pitches as his team leads
in the sixth inning, 8-0. The home team asks the plate umpire to forfeit the game or, at a
minimum, have the pitcher removed as a pitcher. RULING: Each state association will



set its own regulations and protocols for violation of Rule 6-1-6. The umpire should
suggest the coach contact and/or notify the state association. (6-1-6)

SITUATION 11: On the first pitch of the at-bat, the runner on first base attempts to steal
second base. The catcher brings his arm back to throw and makes contact with the plate
umpire. The catcher (a) continues his throw but because of the contact throws the ball
into center field, or (b) makes no throw as he dropped the ball. The runner arrives safely
at second base. RULING: In both instances, this is umpire interference. The runner will
be returned to first base. (8-3-6)

SITUATION 12: The pitch bounces off the catcher and rolls away from home plate. The
plate umpire, trying to get out of the way of the catcher, moves into the catcher’s path as
he attempts to retrieve the pitched ball. The contact causes the catcher to lose enough
time so that he cannot make a play on the runner advancing. RULING: This is not
umpire interference. The play stands. (8-3-6)

SITUATION 13: On an attempted steal of second base, the catcher throws quickly
toward second base. The throw sails into the base umpire and rebounds off the umpire
into right field. By the time the ball is retrieved, the runner advances to third base.
RULING: This is not umpire interference. The play stands. (8-3-6)

SITUATION 14: With runners on second and third, and a fly ball is hit deep to right
field, the third-base coach grabs the third base runner’s shirt to force him to tag properly.
The runner from second base legally tags as the ball is caught. Both runners, during the
course of the play, score. RULING: The runner at third base is called out immediately
when the coach physically assisted him in tagging properly. Play continues and the run
scored by the second-base runner will count. (3-2-2 Penalty, 8-4-2s)

SITUATION 15: With runners on first and third, a ball is hit to center field. The coach
physically holds the runner up at third base until he sees that the fly ball is not caught.
The runner from first base is later thrown out as he attempted to advance to third base.
RULING: The runner at third base is immediately called out when the third-base coach
physically prevented him from advancing until he knew if the fly ball was caught. Play
continues and the first-base runner’s out at third base stands. (3-2-2 Penalty, 8-4-2s)

SITUATION 16: With a runner on first base, the batter hits a single down the right-field
foul line. As the runner from first base nears second base, he is obstructed by the
shortstop, which causes him to not touch second base. The runner continues to advance
and arrives safely at third base. The defense calls “time,” and then appeals the runner
missing second base. RULING: The runner is not out on appeal. If, in the umpire’s
judgment, the obstruction caused the runner to miss second base, the appeal is denied and
the runner’s advance is legal. (CB 8.2.5E)

SITUATION 17: The runner from first base is advancing to second base on a passed ball
and is obstructed halfway to second base by the second baseman. The ball rolls farther
away from the catcher allowing the runner to advance to third base. The runner failed to
touch second base as he advanced. The defense calls “time,” and appeals the runner’s



failure to touch second base. RULING: The runner is declared out on the valid appeal by
the defense. In the umpire’s judgment, the runner’s failure to properly touch second base
was not caused by the obstruction. (8-2-6¢, CB 8.2.5E)

SITUATION 18: With two outs and a runner on third base, the batter hits a ground ball
to the pitcher. The pitcher fields the ball and throws home to retire the runner from third
base. A run-down ensues and the runner is obstructed returning to third base. The defense
gives up on the runner from third base and throws to retire the batter-runner who had
touched first base and was advancing to second base. This third out occurs before the
runner from third base advances and touches home. Does his run count? RULING: Yes.
The runner will be awarded home due to the defense’s obstruction during the run-down
back to third base. The obstruction award requires a minimum of a one-base award from
where the runner was at the time of the obstruction. So, the runner is awarded home. The
third out was a not a force out so the run will count. (8-3-2, 9-1-1)

SITUATION 19: With runners on first and third with one out, the batter takes a called
third strike. Both runners were off on the pitch for a delayed double steal. The batter
strides across home plate to return to his dugout as the catcher throws to second base. The
batter contacts the catcher, batter’s interference is called by the plate umpire, but the
catcher’s throw is still in time to record the out on the runner advancing from first base.
The runner from third base scores before the out at second base. The defensive coach tells
the plate umpire that he does not want the result of the play; he wants the penalty for the
batter’s interference. RULING: The run will count. This is a time play and the run scored
prior to the third out being made. Once the out was made on the runner at second, the
batter interference is ignored. The defensive coach has no option available. (7-3-5
Penalty, 9-1-1)

SITUATION 20: Runners on first and third. The catcher attempts to pick off the runner
at third base, who was not advancing to third base but was simply off the base. The batter
leans over and interferes with the catcher attempting to throw to third. The catcher stops
his throw to third and instead throws to second base to retire the runner from first base
advancing on a delayed steal. During this play, the runner from third comes home to
score. RULING: The plate umpire should have declared the ball dead when the catcher
did not make the first play. The batter would be declared out and the runner returned to
first base. The ball remains a delayed dead ball on the first play by the catcher. If an out
does not occur, the ball shall become immediately dead. (5-2a.1., 7-3-5 Penalty)



