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SITUATION 1: A head coach uses vulgar and profane language when addressing the base umpire. The
base umpire ejects the head coach without first issuing a warning. RULING: When an unsportsmanlike act
using profane language directed at an umpire is judged to be a major violation, the penalty is an immediate
ejection. No warning is necessary. (3-3-1f2 Penalty)

SITUATION 2: A written warning accompanied by a bench restriction must occur prior to an ejection.
RULING: If an unsportsmanlike act is judged to be a major violation, an ejection may be made without a
prior warning being given. Additionally, there are specific acts in Rule 3-3-1l-q, where the penalty is an
immediate ejection. (3-3-1f-k Penalty, 3-3-1l-q Penalty)

SITUATION 3: A head coach is upset about a close call at home plate. During an animated discussion, he
bumps the plate umpire. RULING: The head coach is ejected. Physical contact with an umpire, even if
unintended or accidental, shall result in an ejection of the offender. (3-3-1q Penalty)

SITUATION 4: The first base assistant coach is upset over an “out” call on a steal at second base. The
assistant coach goes to the area around second base and, while arguing the call, kicks dirt on the base
umpire. RULING: The assistant coach is ejected; no warning is needed prior to the ejection. The head
coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game. (3-3-1q Penalty, 3-3-1f6 Penalty)

SITUATION 5: During the course of the game, the plate umpire has utilized numerous non-verbal,
preventative warnings to the head coach. In the sixth inning, the coach continues to complain about various
calls and is ejected by the plate umpire. RULING: Unless the last event was a major unsportsmanlike act,
the head coach must first receive a written warning and be restricted to the bench before an ejection. (3-3-
1f Penalty, 10-2-3j)

SITUATION 6: Having previously received a written warning and a restriction to the dugout for a minor
unsportsmanlike outburst, the coach again loudly complains about the plate umpire’s strike zone and
performance. RULING: The coach is ejected from the game. Having been previously warned and restricted
to the bench, any subsequent minor or a major violation results in ejection. (3-3-1f Penalty)

SITUATION 7: What is a head coach who is restricted to the bench allowed to do? RULING: Even though
the head coach is restricted to the bench and may not occupy a coaching box, he is still the head coach.
He still represents the team in communications with umpires and may address and coach base runners,
the batter, defensive players and other coaches. He may hold team conferences at the dugout or bench
area. He may leave the bench/dugout area to attend to a player who becomes ill or injured and may
request to talk to an umpire concerning a rule or rule enforcement. However, he shall be ejected for any
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further misconduct. (3-2-1, 3-3-1f Penalty)

SITUATION 8: What may a coach who is ejected do? RULING: A coach who is ejected shall immediately
leave the vicinity of the playing area and is prohibited from further contact – direct or indirect – with the
team during the remainder of the game. His presence away from the field shall be such that he cannot be
seen or heard from the playing field. He may return when requested to attend to an ill or injured player. (3-
3-2)

SITUATION 9: A pitcher comes to the mound wearing a “camouflaged” compression sleeve that does not
extend below the elbow. RULING: A camouflaged compression sleeve worn by the pitcher is legal. (1-4-2)

SITUATION 10: A pitcher is wearing a compression sleeve on his pitching arm that extends to his wrist.
The compression sleeve is a solid black color. RULING: This compression sleeve is legal. Compression
sleeves worn by the pitcher that extend below the elbow shall be solid black or solid dark color. (1-4-2)

SITUATION 11: The pitcher has a white compression sleeve that extends only to his elbow on his (a)
pitching arm, (b) non-pitching arm or (c) both arms. RULING: This is legal in (a), (b) and (c). Compression
sleeves worn by a pitcher that extend only to the elbow may be white, gray, solid black or a dark color.
Compression sleeves may be worn on one arm (pitching or non-pitching) or both arms. (1-4-2)

SITUATION 12: The pitcher is wearing a long, dark black compression sleeve to his wrist on one arm and
a white compression sleeve that extends only to the elbow on the other arm. RULING: This is legal
provided the plate umpire does not judge this to be distracting to a batter. (1-4-2; 6-2-1f)

SITUATION 13: The pitcher has a compression sleeve that extends to his wrist. The portion of the sleeve
that is below the elbow is a dark solid color, while the portion of the sleeve that extends to the elbow is
white. RULING: This is illegal. A compression sleeve that extends below the pitcher’s elbow must be solid
black or a solid dark color. (1-4-2)

SITUATION 14: The home team is wearing a vest-type uniform with a white shirt worn underneath. The
sleeves of the shirt under the vest extend only to the elbow. RULING: This is legal. A pitcher’s shirt worn
under the vest is not an undershirt. It may be white, provided it does not extend below the elbow. (1-4-2)

SITUATION 15: The visiting team is wearing a vest-type uniform with a white shirt worn underneath. The
sleeves extend to the players’ wrists. The plate umpire informs the coach that this is not legal for the
pitcher. The pitcher changes to a black shirt under the vest with sleeves that extend to his wrists. The
opposing coach argues that this is not legal as uniforms must be of the same color and style. RULING: It is
legal, in this instance, for the pitcher to wear a shirt under his vest of a different color than the rest of the
team. Any sleeve worn by the pitcher that extends below his elbow must be a solid black or a solid dark
color. (1-4-1, 1-4-2)

SITUATION 16: The catcher helps warm up a pitcher in (a) the bullpen or (b) on the field. He takes a



crouch position and is wearing a skull cap and a catcher’s mask that is not attached. RULING: This is not
compliant equipment for the catcher. The catcher’s helmet and mask combination shall meet the NOCSAE
standard and shall have full ear (dual ear flaps) protection. (1-5-4)

SITUATION 17: A left-handed pitcher attempts to pick-off the runner at first base. Simultaneously with his
throw, the pitcher picks up his pivot foot and places it behind the pitcher’s plate. The throw bounces off the
first baseman’s glove and goes into dead-ball territory. The base umpire awards the runner third base,
ruling that the pitcher was an infielder and the award is two bases. RULING: The award should be second
base; only one base. The status of the pitcher at the time he made the attempted pick-off throw was still
that of a pitcher, not an infielder. After the pitcher places his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the
pitcher’s plate, his status then changes to that of an infielder. Moving his pivot foot at the same time he
attempts the pick-off does not change his status as a pitcher. (6-1-3, 8-3-3d)

SITUATION 18: With a runner on first and no outs, the batter hits the pitch in the left-center gap and R1
attempts to reach third base. The center fielder overthrows third base and the pitcher, backing up the play,
catches the throw, and then steps into the dugout. RULING: This is a two-base award to both runners,
awarded from the time the pitcher stepped into the dugout. The throw from the outfielder was complete
when the pitcher caught it, and the subsequent action is a new one. If both runners are between second
and third, they both will be awarded home. If they were both between first and second, R1 is awarded third
and the batter is awarded second base. (5-1-1i, 8-3-3c2, 8-3-5)

SITUATION 19: R1 is attempting to score from third base and is obstructed by the catcher who tags him on
the play. After the play is over, the home plate umpire declares “Time” and awards the runner home. R1
does not touch home plate. The next batter enters the batter’s box and the plate umpire announces “Play.”
The pitcher next requests “Time” and appeals the runner not touching home plate. RULING: This is a legal
appeal. The runner will be declared out and the run will no longer count. All bases must be touched, even
on an award. A dead-ball appeal may be made before the next legal or illegal pitch. (8-2-1, 8-2-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 20: The batter singles to right field and (a) the ball rolls to a stop and the right fielder,
attempting to pick up the ball, kicks it into dead-ball territory; or (b) the bounding ball strikes the right
fielder’s leg and deflects into dead-ball territory. RULING: In (a), the right fielder applied the impetus that
caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, the same as if he had thrown it there. The award to any runner
is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the kick. In (b), the force on the batted ball caused the
ball to go into dead-ball territory, so the award to any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the
time of the pitch. (8-3-3c, 8-3-5)
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